Awarded the Music Edition Prize 2019 and the BMU Media Prize 2020
Produced by Musik der Jahrhunderte | Directed and edited by Wiebke Pöpel | Camera: Michael Zimmer, Wiebke Pöpel |
Published at Breitkopf&Härtel

Helmut Lachenmann, with his unique “Musique Concrète Instrumentale” one of the most influential contemporary
composers worldwide, has created a whole universe of noise sounds, most of which are produced on traditional instruments.
To this day, the 85-year-old composer is present at most of the rehearsals of his music, instructing the musicians
in his special playing techniques.

As part of the project “Lachenmann Perspectives”, Wiebke Pöpel, along with the cameraman Michael Zimmer,
accompanied Helmut Lachenmann to nine orchestra rehearsals across Europe.

From hundreds of hours of filmed material, she created a seven-part DVD series.
In addition to rehearsal films and concert recordings, the DVDs contain interviews with the composer
that are informative as well as entertaining. All DVDs are bilingual (English/German).

“Rarely has baking paper been heard to sound as beautiful as it does here…
Wiebke Pöpel succeeds in making the viewer experience a willingness for adventure,
a willingness to learn, as well as the work successes of the nine orchestras involved.”
(Jörn Peter Hiekel, Neue Musikzeitung)

“What we have here is a real treasure
whose value is priceless for understanding Lachenmann’s music.”
(Felix Knoblauch, Positionen)

“Director Wiebke Pöpel has succeeded in capturing an extremely earthly Lachenmann
who doesn’t get caught up in intellectual flights of fancy, but here often with a
wonderful sense of humor – he speaks the language of his listeners.”
(Jürgen Überschmidt, Musik & Bildung)

Participating orchestras and conductors
Bas Wiegers & philharmonie zuidnederland | Brad Lubman & Ensemble Modern Orchestra | Emilio Pomàrico & Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin |
Peter Rundel & Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart | Peter Hirsch & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern |
Sylvain Cambreling & Staatsorchester Stuttgart, Arditti Quartet | Pascal Rophé & SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg | Lothar Zagrosek & Orquestra
Sinfónica do Porto | Arturo Tamayo & Orquesta Sinfónica de Musikene

Available from Breitkopf&Härtel and online retailers.

Scroll to Top